PROJECTS

D&I Project
Peace days
MESVS
Recurring Collaborations
Projects Under Development

D&I Project

Over the past few years, the Peace Network for Social Harmony has met and collaborated with numerous partners working in the field of diversity and inclusion, including grassroots organizations, cultural and educational institutions, businesses, government, etc. We discerned that these partners rarely have the opportunity to meet with one another in order to share data, knowledge, experience and practices, and to discuss issues they have in common.

In order to respond to these needs in the field, the Peace Network implemented a long-term project which aims to facilitate collaboration and increase efficiency and effectiveness, in order to generate a greater impact in society.

Phase 1: Forum on Diversity and Inclusion

In April 2022, the Peace Network organized a Forum that brought together 250 participants representing approximately 100 organizations and institutions. This event was an opportunity to meet, discuss and analyze current issues, including:

  • advances and blind spots in diversity and inclusion;
  • effective and ineffective practices;
  • theory and practice of transversality and intersectionality;
  • organizational transformation;
  • lconcepts and practices in DEI;
  • representativeness, etc.

The Forum was an opportunity to create sectoral and cross-sectoral synergies through workshops in which participants worked together on proposals for solutions to identified issues.

83 %  of participants were very satisfied

17 %  of participants were satisfied

Phase 2: Working group

Working groups made up of Forum participants are working together to develop a collective action plan based on the results of the Forum, in conjunction with their experience in the field. This collaborative effort will include concrete solutions as well as the strategies and the mechanisms for their implementation. The working groups will examine the following transversal issues:

  • organizational transformation;
  • relations with donors;
  • intersectionality;
  • representativeness, etc.

They are also working on issues specific to the following sectors:

  • education;
  • arts and culture;
  • business;
  • public service;
  • intercultural rapprochement;
  • immigration.

Impact of the project

 Summary report:  The summary report will explain the scope of the project and focus on collaboration between and within sectors.

 Collective Action Plan:   At the end of this phase of the project, we will produce a collective action plan that will outline concrete actions, suggest how they can best be implemented and present a timeline.

Phase 3: 2nd Forum

This second Forum will be another opportunity to bring together stakeholders in Diversity and Inclusion, in order to present results related to the development of the collective action plan and the next steps of the project.

PEACE DAYS

Since 2015, the Peace Network for Social Harmony has coordinated Peace Days, an initiative inspired by the un International Day of Peace. From mid-September to mid-October, with the contribution of a tremendous variety of partners from sectors including community, culture, education, and philanthropy, the Peace Network presents an array of activities that allow Montrealers to reflect on and actively contribute to peace-in-action.


For more information, visit the Peace Days.

MESVS  

Since November 2020, the Peace Network for Social Harmony has coordinated the Mouvement pour des écoles sans violence sexuelles (MESVS) - the Quebec hub of the Canadian Women's Foundation's national program of  Building the Field of Teen Healthy Relationships.


The MESVS was created in the spring of 2018 as a means of supporting a group of teenage girls from the Maison d'Haïti – living in the Saint-Michel district - who spoke out publicly to demand real and lasting change, in order to counter sexual violence in our educational institutions.


The MESVS demands that all primary and secondary schools have:

  • a legal framework and a specific and uniform intervention protocol against sexual violence;
  • all necessary resources to guarantee access to positive, inclusive and essential sexual education;
  • the tools, the means and the resources necessary for effective prevention, detection, intervention, reporting and support when youth are faced with sexual violence.
Directory of sexual education resources

The MESVS and the EduSex Coalition developed a directory of resources to facilitate access to tools that encourage and promote healthy relationships amongst children and youth, in particular to prevent, raise awareness and intervene with regards to sexual violence. The directory also provides tools related to different types of violence, such as bullying, cyber-violence, discrimination, sexism, homophobia, etc.

For more information

If you are a community organization and would like to suggest resources for the directory, please contact Adriana Eslava: adriana.eslava@lereseaupaix.ca.

La voix des jeunes compte youth collective (#Metoo scolaire)

Since 2021, the Network has supported the initiatives of La voix des jeunes compte, a group of young women aged 15 to 21, who founded the Movement for Schools Without Sexual Violence (MESVS). This youth collective has been active in the media and has attracted political attention and support. Their actions include a list of recommandations and a citizens' initiative which aims to get Quebec to adopt a law to counter sexual violence in primary and secondary schools.

Recurring Collaborations

MID-JANUARY

Martin Luther King Day

Commemoration of the values and work of Martin Luther King, with panel discussion and networking.


END OF JANUARY

Muslim Awareness Week

Commemoration of the attack on the Grand Mosque of Quebec (January 29, 2017), with a week of activities such as screenings and discussions, panels, commemorative events, exhibitions, intercultural and interfaith events.

For more information

END OF MARCH
Action Week Against Racism

Celebration of the UN International Day for the Elimination of Racial Discrimination, with a week of activities to fight racism and promote a more just and harmonious society.

For more information   

MID-MAY

Cuisine ta ville

A biennial artistic and social event providing space for human encounters and exchanges, covering issues related to migration from a perspective of social peace and mutual recognition.

For more information 

MAY 16

International Day for Living Together in Peace

Grounded in the collaborative efforts of participating organizations, this day highlights initiatives that contribute to vivre-ensemble, centred on the respect and embracing of difference, with resulting synergies among participants and stakeholders.   

For more information  

SEPTEMBER 21st TO OCTOBER 2nd

Peace Days

Organization and coordination of an annual initiative involving more than 60 partners and the City of Montreal (since 2015).

For more information 

November 25th to December 6th

12 Days of Action to End Violence Against Women

a unique opportunity to collectively reflect on sustainable solutions for the elimination of all forms of violence against women and girls.

For more information  

ANNUAL

Tools of Peace

A network of community organizations that works to prevent violence in our society and to create synergy between stakeholders. The organization aims to share best practices, provide opportunities for collaboration, and develop a stronger voice for those working in the field. Since 2015, the Peace Network for Social Harmony has helped to provide a coordinator for the Tools of Peace network as a way to support the achievement of their mission.

For more information  

PROJECTS UNDER DEVELOPMENT


PEACE BUILDING

The Network is working on the creation of a Peace Building that would house professional and community-based organizations, both as a means of fostering collaboration and synergy, and to send a clear message about the value of peace in our society. The Peace Building will be a place where:

·        field experts from a multitude of NGOs work side-by-side;

·        mediators practice their dispute resolution and conflict prevention work;

·        academics conduct research and exchange findings;

·     stakeholders are trained in evidence-based strategies and tools.

The Peace Building will provide common spaces for the different stakeholders, including a reception area, meetings rooms, training facilities and an eating area. These spaces will foster opportunities for collaboration, creativity, and the sharing of knowledge, expertise, and best practices. In addition, the Peace Building will help reduce overhead costs, through the sharing of resources such as a receptionist, graphic artists, and translation services. Once it becomes a reality, the Peace Building will generate significant efficiencies and will increase social impact.

peace_sign


THE ETHICS OF COMMUNICATION

Interpersonal communication is a core element of our actions in the world. The force of words multiplied by technologies such as social media gives communication tremendous power which can do good by contributing to the development and maintenance of social harmony, but which can also cause great harm.

The Network wishes to develop workshops devoted to the ethics of communication for schools and workplaces. By providing opportunities for reflection on interpersonal communication, we wish to address a crucial question which effects the ability of every citizen to contribute to peace and social harmony.

IN SCHOOL SETTINGS

We want to make young people aware of the importance and impact of communication by offering them an opportunity to reflect on the choice of words, their strengths and meaning, the role of participants, the importance of tone of voice, freedom of expression, etc. These questions allow us to approach and better understand the ethical issues of interpersonal communication.

IN THE WORKPLACE 

Work occupies an important part of our daily lives, so we must nurture a caring and supportive work environment. Healthy and peaceful communication is undoubtedly one of the elements that can improve the well-being of employees. We want to offer workshops that provide an opportunity for reflection on the importance of communication, different manners of communicating, and implied ethical questions.

ethique

Projets

PROJET DI
JOURNÉES DE LA PAIX
MESVS
COLLABORATIONS RÉCURRENTS
Projets en développement

Projet DI 

Genèse du projet : Au cours des dernières années, notre équipe a rencontré et collaboré avec de nombreux acteurs œuvrant dans le domaine de la diversité et de l’inclusion, y compris des ONG, des institutions culturelles et éducatives, le gouvernement, des entreprises, etc. Nous avons constaté que ces partenaires ont rarement l’occasion de se rencontrer pour partager des données, connaissances, expériences et des pratiques, ainsi que d’échanger sur les problématiques qu'ils ont en commun.

Afin de répondre à ces besoins du terrain, nous avons décidé de mettre en place un projet de longue durée qui a pour objectif de faciliter la collaboration, créer une plus grande efficience et efficacité, afin de générer un plus grand impact dans la société.

VOLET 1 : Forum DI

En avril 2022, le Réseau a organisé un Forum qui a réuni 250 participants représentant une centaine d'organisations et institutions. Cet événement fut une occasion de se rencontrer, discuter et analyser les enjeux actuels, notamment :

  • les avancées et les angles morts en matière de diversité et inclusion ;
  • les pratiques fonctionnelles et non fonctionnelles ;
  • la théorie et la pratique de la transversalité et de l’intersectionnalité ;
  • les transformations organisationnelles ;
  • les concepts et les pratiques en ÉDI ;
  • la représentativité, etc.

Le Forum était une opportunité de créer des synergies sectorielles et intersectorielles grâce aux ateliers dans lesquels les participants ont travaillé ensemble sur des propositions de pistes de solutions aux problématiques définies.

83 %  des participant.e.s sont très satisfait.e.s

17 %  des participant.e.s sont satisfait.e.s

VOLET 2 : Groupe de travail et plan d'action collectif

Des groupes de travail formés des participants du Forum collaborent pour élaborer un plan d’action collectif. Pour ce faire, les participants reprennent les résultats du Forum, en croisant leurs expériences et regards pour proposer des solutions concrètes ainsi que les stratégies et les mécanismes de leur mise en place. Les groupes de travail se penchent sur des enjeux transversaux tels que :

  • transformation organisationnelle ;
  • relation avec des bailleurs de fonds ;
  • intersectionnalité ;
  • représentativité, etc.

Ils travaillent également sur des problématiques spécifiques aux secteurs représentés :

  • éducation ;
  • art et culture ;
  • affaires ;
  • service public ;
  • rapprochement interculturel ;
  • immigration.

Retombées du projet

 Rapport-synthèse :  le rapport-synthèse expliquera la démarche du projet et portera sur la collaboration entre les secteurs et au sein des secteurs particuliers.

Consultez le rapport

 Plan d’action collectif :   à la fin de ce volet du projet, nous produirons un plan d’action collectif qui présentera des mesures concrètes, leur mise en place et l'échéancier.

VOLET 3 : 2e Forum

Ce deuxième Forum sera une occasion de réunir à nouveau des acteurs de la diversité et l’inclusion, afin de présenter des résultats de la mise en place du plan d’action collectif et les prochaines étapes du projet.

JOURNÉES DE LA PAIX  

Depuis 2015, le Réseau pour la paix et l’harmonie sociale est initiateur et porteur du projet JOURNÉES DE LA PAIX entourant la Journée internationale de la paix des Nations Unies. Durant les mois de septembre et octobre, le Réseau avec la contribution d’une variété de partenaires des milieux communautaire, culturel, éducatif, philanthropique, etc., organise de nombreuses activités, afin de permettre aux Montréalais.es de réfléchir et d’agir pour la paix en action!


Pour en savoir plus, consultez le site des Journées de la paix.

MESVS  

Depuis novembre 2020, le Réseau pour la paix et l’harmonie sociale assure la co-coordination du Mouvement pour des écoles sans violences sexuelles (MESVS), le volet québécois du projet de la Fondation canadienne des femmes (FCF) intitulé Bâtir le domaine de la promotion des relations saines chez les jeunes.


Le MESVS a été créé au printemps 2018 en soutien à un groupe d’adolescentes de la Maison d’Haïti - du quartier Saint-Michel - ayant pris la parole publiquement pour demander des changements réels et pérennes, afin de contrer les violences sexuelles dans leurs établissements scolaires. Ce groupe jeunesse est connu sous le nom La voix des jeunes compte.


Le MESVS revendique que toutes les écoles primaires et secondaires aient :

  • une loi-cadre et un protocole d’intervention spécifique et uniforme contre les violences à caractère sexuel ;
  • les moyens nécessaire pour garantir un accès à une éducation à la sexualité positive, inclusive et émancipatrice ;
  • les outils, les moyens et les ressources nécessaires pour prévenir, dépister, intervenir, référer et accompagner adéquatement les jeunes lorsqu’ils et elles font face aux violences sexuelles.
RÉPERTOIRE DE RESSOURCES EN ÉDUCATION À LA SEXUALITÉ

Le MESVS et la Coalition EduSex ont développé un répertoire commun de ressources afin de faciliter l’accès aux outils qui favorisent et promeuvent des relations saines chez les enfants et les jeunes, et qui visent ainsi à prévenir, à sensibiliser et à intervenir sur la question des violences sexuelles. Ce répertoire fait également la promotion d’outils qui abordent les enjeux liés aux différents types de violences, tels que l’intimidation, la cyberviolence, la discrimation, le sexisme, l’homophobie, etc.

En savoir plus

Si vous êtes un organisme communautaire et que vous souhaitez proposer des ressources pour le répertoire, veuillez prendre contact avec Adriana Eslava : adriana.eslava@lereseaupaix.ca.

COLLECTIF JEUNESSE LA VOIX DES JEUNES COMPTE (#Metoo scolaire)

Depuis 2021, le Réseau accompagne et soutient les initiatives de La voix des jeunes compte, un collectif jeunesse composé de femmes âgées de 15 à 21 ans. Elles sont également les fondatrices du Mouvement pour des écoles sans violences sexuelles (MESVS). Ces jeunes militantes sont actives sur le plan politique et médiatique. Leurs actions comprennent une liste de recommandations et une démarche citoyenne, qui vise à amener le Québec à se doter d’une Loi pour contrer les violences sexuelles dans les établissements scolaires primaires et secondaires.

Collaborations récurrents  

MI-JANVIER

Journée Martin Luther King (MLK)

Commémoration des valeurs et du travail de Martin Luther King, panel de discussion et occasion de réseautage.


FIN JANVIER

Semaine de Sensibilisation Musulmane (SSM)

Commémoration de l’attentat de la grande Mosquée de Québec, qui s’est produit le 29 janvier 2017 et semaine d’activités telles que des projections et discussions, panels, événements commémoratifs, expositions, événements interculturels et interreligieux, etc.  

En savoir plus

FIN MARS
Semaine d’actions contre le racisme (SACR)

Commémoration de la Journée internationale pour l’élimination de la discrimination raciale proclamée par les Nations Unies et semaine d’activités pour lutter contre le racisme afin de promouvoir une société plus juste et harmonieuse.  

En savoir plus  

MI-MAI

Cuisine ta ville

Un rendez-vous biennal artistique et social où les enjeux migratoires dans une perspective de paix sociale et de reconnaissance mutuelle sont abordés, tout en privilégiant l’espace pour les rencontres et les échanges humains. 

En savoir plus 

16 MAI

Journée internationale du vivre-ensemble en paix (JIVEP)

L’occasion de mettre en valeur les initiatives qui favorisent l’harmonie sociale dans l’acceptation et le respect des différences tout en encourageant le travail collaboratif et la synergie.  

En savoir plus 

21 SEPTEMBRE - 2 OCTOBRE

Journées de la paix (JP)

Commémoration de la Journée internationale de la paix proclamé par les Nations Unis, créer une synergie entre les partenaires du terrain et mobiliser le public autour de la paix en action 

En savoir plus 

25 NOVEMBRE - 6 DÉCEMBRE

12 jours d’action contre les violences faites aux femmes

C'est une occasion privilégiée de réfléchir collectivement à ce phénomène et aux solutions durables pour l'élimination de toute forme de violence faite aux femmes et aux filles.    

En savoir plus  

ANNUEL

Outils de paix

Un regroupement d’organismes communautaires qui lutte contre la violence dans notre société afin de créer une synergie entre les parties prenantes. Le regroupement vise à partager les meilleures pratiques et à offrir des possibilités de collaboration, tout en permettant l’émergence d’une voix plus forte. Depuis 2015, le Réseau pour la paix offre le poste de Coordination du réseau Outils de Paix pour les soutenir dans la réalisation de leur mission.    

En savoir plus  

PROJETS EN DÉVELOPPEMENT


MAISON DE LA PAIX

Le Réseau travaille sur la création d’une Maison de la paix, qui hébergera des organisations communautaires et des professionnel.le.s, afin de promouvoir la collaboration et de créer la synergie. Cette Maison de la paix sera un symbole important de la valeur de la paix dans notre société où se trouveront :

·        les expert.e.s du terrain provenant de multiples ONG qui travailleront ensemble ;

·        les médiateur.trice.s qui pratiqueront leur travail dans la résolution et la prévention des conflits ;

·        les chercheur.e.s académiques mèneront leurs études et auront l’occasion de partager leurs résultats ;

·     les parties prenantes auront accès à des formations axées sur leurs besoins et basées sur les données probantes.

La Maison de la paix fournira des espaces communs aux diverses parties prenantes, tels que l’accueil, des salles de réunion, des salles de formation et une salle à manger. Ces espaces faciliteront des rencontres et créeront des opportunités de collaboration, de créativité et de mobilisation d’expertises et des meilleures pratiques. De plus, la Maison de la paix aidera à réduire des coûts administratifs par le partage de ressources telles que le service d’accueil, d’infographie et de traduction. La Maison de la paix génèrera une efficience importante et son impact contribuera au bien-être de notre société. 

peace_sign


L’ÉTHIQUE DE LA COMMUNICATION

La communication interpersonnelle est un moyen puissant de créer et d’agir dans le monde. La force des mots multipliée par des supports technologiques donne à la communication une grande puissance qui peut faire du bien en contribuant à l’élaboration et le maintien de l’harmonie sociale, mais qui peut aussi causer beaucoup de mal.

Le Réseau souhaite développer des ateliers consacrés à l’éthique de la communication pour le milieu scolaire et le milieu de travail. En proposant une réflexion sur la communication interpersonnelle, nous souhaitons aborder une question cruciale qui concerne la responsabilité de chacun.e. dans ce processus. 

DANS LE MILIEU SCOLAIRE

Nous souhaitons sensibiliser les jeunes à l’importance de la communication et son impact en leur proposant la réflexion sur le choix des mots, leurs forces et leur sens, le rôle des participant.e.s, l’importance de la tonalité de voix employée, la liberté d’expression, etc. Ces questions permettent d’aborder et de mieux comprendre les enjeux éthiques de la communication interpersonnelle.

DANS LE MILIEU DE TRAVAIL 

Le travail occupe une partie importante dans la vie quotidienne. Il est donc nécessaire de prendre soin de cet environnement. La communication saine et paisible est sans doute un des éléments qui peut améliorer le bien-être des collaborateur.trice.s. Nous souhaitons proposer au sein de nos ateliers une réflexion sur l’importance de la communication, questionner la manière de communiquer et aborder les aspects éthiques qui sont inéluctables.

ethique